Looking Good.

Hi Folks

Let’s hope that you are all as well as can be expected,  to you who are having a rough time I hope you get relief soon.  My pain has been reasonable lately and I don’t take these manageable days for granted that’s for sure.

Things always seem to take an age, for example for me to get a new wheelchair I had to get an appointment to then get another appointment then another then I MIGHT get my new wheelchair.  These appointments aren’t close together this is spread over a 13-18 week period.  When suffering from Chronic Pain and thinking that something could be of benefit to helping you improve your life you want it now and not in months time.   Now this may sound like I’m being greedy and wanting everything my own way but it’s further from the truth than you think. 

image

Because I am ex armed forces everytime I ask my local social services for some help the first thing they say to me is “can’t the army help you”  or “get in contact with SSAFA*”.   Why should I have to go ask charities to help me when my local occupational therapists should be helping me.   I am not a charity case,  I just want help that will make my wife and my life a bit easier. 

So looking forward I’m planning on doing more things to get me out and start living my life again.   I’m wanting to get a mountain trike,  it’s the wheelchair equivalent to a mountain bike.  This will help me go walks up hills on grass muck sand etc. I am pretty excited about going up some hills and get some of my belly down a bit.  My mate  who I just met in Jersey has got me right into believing in myself and being positive,  not just him but a lot of work from my wife too and my mates partner.   My wheelchair I use just now isn’t upto the job it’s far too bulky so I am awaiting to a new sporty wheelchair.  This new chair will make me use less energy as it’s lighter etc.  So I am looking forward to a few months ahead with a lot of changes in how we lead our lives.

image

MOUNTAIN TRIKE

Thanks for reading, please do follow my blog and my twitter.

Jamie

Leave a Reply

